Life Before Birth

I’ll admit, I’ve had a hard time processing this book, and though I plan on passing it on to others I know interested in birth and prenatal science, I can’t say I got a whole lot out of it personally.

The language is very clinical, and yet at the same time, I think the author over-explained concepts which someone reading a book like this would already be familiar with. For instance, anyone who has done any reading on how pregnancy and birth conditions effect a child will likely have read many articles and studies on Oxytocin, yet the author spends a whole chapter on this as if this is “new” information. There were other parts of the book as well, where I felt like the author was talking about very simple concepts in as complicated language as he could, or saying the same thing in different ways. There were times that because of this redundancy, I found myself wondering if my bookmark had been misplaced; I was SURE I had read the same thing before.

I also wasn’t expecting this book to include so much information about psychotherapy. I am not a therapist of any type, so although I enjoy learning about pregnancy and birth and how it effects one’s life, the sections on how to handle these issues therapeutically didn’t interest me at all.

Overall, this is a much more professional book than I expected; it’s obviously not intended for the lay person wanting an “interesting read,” but could definitely be useful for therapists, doctors/midwives, and other professionals.

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

