The Ale Boy’s Feast

The Ale Boy's FeastThe Ale Boy’s Feast by Jeffrey Overstreet
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Ale Boy’s feast is the fourth book in the “Aurelia’s Colors” series, a fact which I wish I had known before trying to stumble and flounder through this novel. What would probably have been an intriguing, well-written fantasy novel ended being a flop for me personally because try as I might, I could not keep the characters. creatures, places, or story lines straight.

From what I gleaned from the novel, the good people of the kingdom have lost a war and their king is assumed dead; together they brave the perils of the world around them in order to find a place where they will be safe. The ale boy in the title, Rescue, uncovers a path and attempts to lead the refugees to safety. Meanwhile, there are also at least four other story lines revolving around other characters. While each of these story lines was interesting and intriguing, going from one to another without the background of how they tie together made it feel more like reading four or five separate novels.

The author’s prose is beautiful, however, and I purposely stopped halfway through this book, hoping to someday come back to the first books of the series and read through all of them without spoiling the ending for myself.

View all my reviews

Tags:

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

11 responses to “The Ale Boy’s Feast”

  1. chrisd says :

    Unfortunately none of the books in the series are stand alone. But I encourage you to start with book 1. It is so good and the writing so beautiful that I think you’ll enjoy it. And when you get to this book you’ll get it.

    I tore through the first one with no problems. Just passing through!

  2. Homepage says :

    Very educating story, saved your site for hopes to read more! 770894

  3. electrician melbourne says :

    This internet page is often a walk-through for all with the details it suited you with this and didnt know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you will surely discover it. 976133

  4. Albi Auto Officina says :

    Yeah bookmaking this wasnt a high risk determination outstanding post! . 669695

  5. New Site says :

    Some truly wonderful articles on this website , appreciate it for contribution. 813052

  6. click here says :

    I got what you intend, saved to favorites , really decent internet web site . 696629

  7. Hodenkrebs says :

    What is your most noted accomplishment. They may want good listeners rather than good talkers. 880033

  8. brand new site says :

    I enjoy your writing style truly enjoying this internet web site . 730992

  9. find emt schools says :

    Hello! I could have sworn Ive been to this web site before but following browsing via some of the post I realized its new to me. Nonetheless, Im certainly happy I discovered it and Ill be book-marking and checking back often! 116956

  10. Jon says :

    I also read this one without having read the previous books. I fell in love with the world, but like you, it was obvious to me that this book isn’t intended to be read without eh background knowledge. I did fight my way to a satisfying ending, though!

Leave a Reply

