Weekend Ramblings: Classic Reads Blog Hop 2013

What makes a book a classic?

When this question was initially posed, I was in the midst of putting together my 12 Days of Classic Christmas Stories (see Dec 2012 posts) and trying to decide which stories to include — which ones I felt stood the test of time and deserved to be called “classics.”  I opted to stick with works that were by well-known, well-established authors, whose works have been continuously read and analyzed throughout history, yet still are pertinent to us today and teach us important lessons about ourselves and humanity.

With that in mind, here’s a few of my favorite classics:

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
An exciting tale of adventure that features themes of liberty, revenge, and forgiveness, that remind us that our happiness can’t be found in someone else’s misery.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
One of my favorite stories of love and family pride, that teaches us not to make assumptions about the people that we meet.

Emma by Jane Austen
A clever story of friendship and love, reminding us all that when it comes to others’ love lives, we aren’t the ones that know best.

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
A tale of one man’s redemption as he overcomes his past sins, reminding us that people can change and everyone needs a second chance sometimes.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
A melancholy tale of lost love, regrets, and the lengths people will go to in order to find happiness, which helps us let go of the past.

*****

Now check out what some other blog hoppers have been reading:


About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

4 responses to “Weekend Ramblings: Classic Reads Blog Hop 2013”

  1. David M. Brown says :

    Very good post.

    I’ve only read Pride & Prejudice and The Great Gatsby from your list but the others are on my TBR pile.

    Should probably read Les Miserable before I see the film that’s just been released. I prefer to read a book first before I see the adaptation.

    • WNK says :

      My next week’s “Weekend Ramblings” is all about the book vs movie. I LOVED the movie, but I always like reading books before viewing the movie adaptations

  2. Elisabeth says :

    A great list. Happy New Year

  3. Terri Giuliano Long (@tglong) says :

    Thank you so much for taking part in the hop! You’ve included some great reads here!

    My best,
    Terri

Leave a Reply

