Weekend Ramblings: LES MISERABLES (the movie)

The weekend after Christmas, I finally got to see a movie I had been looking forward to for over a year: Les Miserables.  Since first hearing the song “I Dreamed a Dream,” I’ve been interested in the story, though I’ve never had the opportunity to see the musical production.  In 2012, the novel Les Miserables by Victor Hugo was my year-long classic, which I completed in anticipation of the movie.

For those of you that have seen the musical IMDB has a FAQ listing the differences between the stage version and the movie; I was very interested to see that many of these variations were done in order to be more true to the novel.

Overall, I really enjoyed the movie.  The music was dramatic and emotional, and though there obviously had to be parts cut from the book, these exclusions were appropriate and didn’t change the main story line too much.  I was very glad that I had read the book, however, as there were other connections that weren’t apparent in the movie that made more sense when viewed with knowledge from the book — for instance:

  • Fantine’s back story and how she came to be alone and with child
  • how Valjean came to be a mayor
  • the Thenardier’s connection to Marius’s father
  • why Javert was the only one chasing Valjean (everyone else assumed he was dead after an accident at the harbor in which he escaped)
  • how Marius came to know Eponine
  • Gavroche’s relationship to the Thenardiers (he’s their son!)
  • the development of Marius and Cosette’s relationship as he visits her night after night in her garden
  • how Javert helped Valjean return Marius to his grandfather’s house before committing suicide

Check out the trailer below… and then go see the movie!  I highly recommend it!

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

