Prodigy

Prodigy

Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Pub: Jan 2013

3 of 5 stars

Escaping from the Republic, June and Day join forces with the Patriots, a group who is planning to use them in their plot to assassinate the Republic’s new Elector.

I’m a criminal now, and I’ll never be able to go back to the comforts of my old life.  The thought leaves a sick, empty feeling in my stomach, as if I miss being the Republic’s darling.  Maybe I do.

If I’m not the Republic’s darling anymore, then who am I?

In order to remain as spoiler-free as possible, I’m going to put my likes and dislikes of this book in somewhat vague terms.

Likes: Intense action, daring assassination plot, likeable main characters with great depth, heartwrenching twist at the end

Dislikes: Love square (yes, square… ugh!), YA romantic trope of not giving the other person important information but instead allowing them to believe you just don’t like them anymore, incredibly obvious antagonist whom the main characters should have suspected long ago if they were really as smart as they are supposed to be

Overall: An exciting read that’s perfect for those who can’t get enough of YA dystopian adventures

Other books featuring assassination plots:
Mockingjay (The Hunger Game... The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America Inkdeath (Inkheart, #3) Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker

Tags:

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

