Jane Eyre

FAIRY TALE FRIDAY!
http://picturemereading.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/projectfairytalebutton2.jpg

Jane EyreJane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

5 of 5 stars

After a troubled childhood, Jane Eyre becomes a governess for the ward of the dark and brooding Mr. Rochester with whom she falls in love.

I lingered in the long passage to which this led, separating the front and back rooms of the third storey: narrow, low, and dim, with only one little window at the far end, and looking, with its two rows of small black doors all shut, like a corridor in some Bluebeard’s castle.

A book finds its way onto my ‘favorites’ list when subsequent re-readings yield just as much, if not more, enjoyment than the initial read.  I think the first time I read Jane Eyre was in high school, and though I’ve re-read it a handful of times since then, I’m always finding new, interesting tidbits about the work that I didn’t realize or appreciate before.  I enjoy watching the progressive development of Jane’s character and her conscience; though the first time I read it, I remember being confused at the young Jane being so different from the older Jane.  It’s only now that I’m older that I recognize the metamorphosis that took place in her as she matured.  I also for the very first time noticed the quote above, its blatant foreshadowing, and the direct reference to my Project Fairy Tale story.

Project Fairy Tale Connection:

  • Poor girl marries wealthy, influential man? 
    Check (sorta)!  Jane has no money or connections, but Rochester is both rich and powerful; though unlike Bluebeard, his secret is revealed prior to their marriage
  • Man has a secret he keeps from his wife(-to-be)?
    Check!
  • Wife wonders what’s behind a locked door?
    Check!  A door on the third floor is locked, and the mysterious servant Grace Poole works there.  Strange things happen behind the door, but Rochester begs Jane not to ask.
  • Other connections?
    Like Bluebeard, Rochester’s secret involves a prior wife
    Like Bluebeard’s wife, Jane was “rescued” by family

Overall: A beautifully written and engaging classic.

Other classics with dark and brooding heroes:
The Count of Monte Cristo Pride and Prejudice Wuthering Heights

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

6 responses to “Jane Eyre”

  1. Alyssa says :

    Interesting…at first I was like hmm how is this PFT..? Then with your reasoning IT ALL MAKES SENSE!! Jane Eyre is the best, btw. Love me some Rochy ;]

    • WNK says :

      I was really excited about including it in Project Fairy Tale because it’s not an obvious choice, but once you know what you’re looking for, the elements are very obvious!

    • WNK says :

      Ha! Me too! I think the Bluebeard connection makes me like it even more; it’s another depth to it that I hadn’t considered before.

Leave a Reply

