Towering

Towering

NEW this week…

Towering by Alex Flinn

2 of 5 stars

When Wyatt goes to live in the Adirondacks with an old woman that used to know his mother, he stumbles upon a series of mysterious disappearances and discovers a girl who’s been locked in a tower since she was a small child.

I was like that, too, in my own tower, a tower of the mind, enchanted and unreal.  Would I be as brave as her, given the opportunity?  Could I save her as she had saved me?

What I liked?

  • Having a modern girl trapped in a tower with classic literature as her only exposure to the world was kind of a neat concept.
  • There were also some gothic/mysterious atmospheric elements in the first few chapters that kept me reading, wondering about the mystery.

What I didn’t like?

  • Insta-love, including saying “I love you” after knowing each other for two days.  Cheesy, cheesy, cheesy!
  • Magical drugs.  And an “enchanted drug ring.”  Just a little too weird for me.
  • Prophecies and visions from ghosts that drive the plot.  These people must be really superstitious to let these “magical” elements drive so many of their decisions.
  • Irksome little continuity issues.  For instance, a girl who only has been exposed to classical literature and doesn’t even use contractions in her speech refers to a boy as “hot”?  Don’t think she learned that one from Jane Austen.
  • Multiple 1st person POV.  It can be done well, but I’ve found I really don’t prefer it.  The scenes that they were experiencing together were most problematic, as I’d tend to forget whose POV I was reading.  Alternating 3rd person limited would have been less confusing.

Overall: Modern-day Rapunzel that still relied very heavily on magic, leaving it feeling unrealistic and a bit cheesy.

More Rapunzel:
Rapunzel

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

4 responses to “Towering”

  1. Alyssa says :

    My review for this one is going up on Tuesday and like you I felt underwhelmed and overall a bit annoyed. This is frustrating because this was my first Alex Flinn book and I don’t think I’ll be reading any of her others. I totally agree with you on EVERY point! The gothic elements are what kept me reading too!

  2. picturemereading says :

    I am so disappointed to hear this one stunk as much as it did..I have yet to hear a good review of it!

Leave a Reply

