The Astronaut Wives Club

Astronaut

The Astronaut Wives Club: A True Story by Lily Koppel

Pub: June 2013

4 of 5 stars

This biography shows the extraordinary (and at other times entirely ordinary) lives of the women who stood by their men during the space race of the 1960s.

“Standard operating procedure,” Susan called it.  All she had to do on launch day was sit back, surrounded by women who knew what she was going through, and watch her husband ride a Saturn V rocket into the unknown on national television.

I’ve always found the space race to be one of the most interesting periods of time in American history, so when I saw this book written about the women who watched their husbands vie for a place in a space capsule and be blasted off into the unknown, I knew I was interested, and this book held up to my expectations.  Through this book, we get to hear about the everyday lives of these women as they dealt with the loneliness, the constant scrutiny, and high expectations of their husbands’ job.  From just squeaking by to instant celebrity status, I loved this story of how this group pulled together for the highs and lows of the space age, experienced on an incredibly personal level.

I’ll admit, though, there were too many ‘characters’ to keep straight.  I think that focusing on just the initial Mercury Seven would have been a more cohesive book.  I would have loved some sort of appendix that listed all of the astronauts and their wives, as well as what missions they were on.  I had just gotten somewhat of a grasp on the Mercury Seven when more astronauts (and wives!) were added.

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

