Everwild by Neal Shusterman
The Skinjackers Trilogy #2

Pub: 2009

5 of 5 stars

Allie the Outcast and Nick “The Chocolate Ogre”‘s adventures in Everlost continue as Allie searches for her family and Nick continues his quest to help Everlost’s children get to the afterlife.

“In Everlost, just as in the living world, there are those who put their own selfish desires ahead of that which is clearly and obviously right… [S]uch enemies of virtue will eventually destroy themselves if left to their own devices.  Although occasionally some assistance may be required.”

All of the things to love about Everlost hold true in its sequel as well.  Allie, Nick, the McGill, and Mary Hightower all return in this story, as well as various new characters who are every bit as unique and interesting: Jackin’ Jill, Pudgy Capone, Zach the Ripper, and a very proper young Russian immigrant named Milos.

The world-building continues as we learn more and more about Everlost and its inhabitants, as well as the complicated crossovers between Everlost and the “living world.”  Though things do not end up entirely resolved at the end, there is a major turning point that occurs which changes everything and which ends up being a fine breaking point for the series.  Just be sure to pick up the third one before you get to the end of Everwild, because you’ll want to keep reading right away.


About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: