A Great Catch

Great

A Great Catch by Lorna Seilstad
Lake Mawana Summers #2

Pub: 2011

2.5 of 5 stars

Spunky suffragette Emily and baseball pitcher Carter fall for one another in a turn-of-the-century Iowa resort town.

She could do this.  She could balance Carter, baseball, and her suffrage work.  She could do it all and still not leave anything out.

While I loved the setting and atmosphere of this fun, lighthearted, summery read, I found that I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as the first book in the series.  Though there’s a subplot about stolen money, the main plot revolves around the misadventures of a rather stubborn suffragette whose main flaw seems to be that she’s clumsy.  Perhaps it’s just a pet peeve of mine, but it’s one of those tropes that I find horribly overdone.  I mean, she really thinks that a guy is going to dump her because she’s clumsy.  Really!?  *sigh*

Though it had its cute and sweet moments, perhaps I was just in the wrong mood for it at the time, because I found myself increasingly annoyed with the characters’ ridiculous assumptions, stubborn silent treatment, and fickle emotions.  Too much rom-com, not enough historical fiction for me.

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

