Enclave

Enclave

Enclave (Razorland #1) by Ann Aguirre

In a Freak(zombie)-filled post-apocalyptic world, Deuce comes of age in her underground civilization and must team up with outsider Fade when her Enclave exiles her.

I was born during the second holocaust. People had told us legends of a time when human beings lived longer. I thought they were just stories.

I’ve taken a break from YA dystopian/post-apocalyptic stories, but I happened to see this one again the other day and figured it’s been long enough since my last foray into the genre that I’d give it a whirl.

What I liked: An underground society… zombies… I really liked the enclave aspect and exploring what it’d be like to live underground. The world-building in this first part was really neat, and reminded me a bit of The City of Ember, which I’ve always really liked.

What I didn’t like: Love triangles annoy me, and this one shouldn’t have even been an issue, considering the ‘third wheel’ was kind of a creep. Also, the second half becomes more violent and it ends on a cliffhanger, which I’m not really fond of either.

Heads up: Violence, gore, rape, and other things with the potential make your skin crawl

Overall: Not for the squeamish, but a good read for those still interested in YA dystopian/paranormal stories

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

