Vigilante Nights

Adobe Photoshop PDF

Vigilante Nights by Erin Richards

Pub: 2013

When Lucas’ sister is killed in a gang-related car crash, he sets out to form his own group of vigilantes to take them down.

Opening lines:

Silver’s babbling continued at racecar speed. Seriously, I didn’t want to hear about the target of my sister’s lust.

This book is a bit outside what I normally read, but I figured I’d give it a shot. It’s a contemporary YA, but also has a bit of (ghost/spirit) paranormal and romance.

What I liked: The second half of this book was intense. High stakes, tough choices, desperate characters all made the last hundred or so pages hard to put down. Although the characters definitely didn’t make decisions I would make, they were well-developed enough that I still rooted for them, still liked them despite their flaws. I also liked the subtle paranormal aspect, which added to the story instead of stealing the spotlight.

What I didn’t like: I’ll admit, the first half was a bit hard for me to get into. There was a lot going on in the main character’s life, and at times it seemed rather unrelated. The narrator has a very unique, very descriptive voice (which I liked) but at times the unusual figures of speech made it difficult to understand what was actually going on.

Heads up: gang violence, teen drug/alcohol use, some strong language & racial slurs, some sexual content

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

