The Book of You

TLCBookTours
BookThe Book of You by Claire Kendal

Pub: Apr 1, 2014

Clarissa fends off the unwanted, increasingly frightening attentions of a work colleague.

Sometimes I read books that make me feel let down, not necessarily through any fault of their own, but simply because I’d had higher expectations. So when this book was compared to Before I Go To Sleep, I had expected to be hanging on the edge of my seat, guessing until the last page, and though this definitely was a thriller, it lacked the mystery and suspense I was expecting.

What I liked: I feel strange saying I liked parts of this book, because really, this book was horrifying, mostly due to the very real nature of abuse, obsession, and stalking that the main character dealt with. BUT it did make me think, and I like books that make me think.

What I didn’t like: The point-of-view alternates between Clarissa writing in 1st person POV and the narrator describing her life in 3rd person POV, which I found highly distracting. Also, because Clarissa’s journal only described her encounters with Rafe (her stalker), it was a bit ‘spoiler-y’ to start a new scene knowing, oh, he’s going to show up again in this scene.

Heads up: disturbing subject matter, violence, descriptive sexual content (including a rape)

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

2 responses to “The Book of You”

  1. Heather J. @ TLC says :

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Leave a Reply

