The Fault in Our Stars

FaultThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Pub: 2012

Hazel and Augustus meet at a cancer support group and quickly fall in love.

Opening line:

Late in the winter of my seventeenth year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spent quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently, and devoted quite a bit of my abundant free time to thinking about death.

This is one of those books that has been on my TBR list for long time, and I kept putting it off, mostly because I knew the subject matter was two teens dying of cancer and I’ve found it hard to talk myself into immersing myself in that particular topic. I finally picked it up when our book club decided to read it this month.

What I liked: Despite my expectations, this book wasn’t as emotionally difficult to read as I thought. There were elements of humor that kept it lighthearted enough to keep reading despite the tough topic. Even the mock-eulogies that Hazel and Isaac wrote for Augustus had a kind of dark humor that made you smile even as you felt sad. The tone of this book reminded me a lot of Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler – fans of that would enjoy this (and vice versa)

What I didn’t like: First off, I was disappointed that the book that Hazel recommends to Augustus isn’t real — it sounded interesting.

Certain aspects of the characters bothered me. It may just be a personal thing, but they just seemed so precocious, going around quoting poetry and using inflated vocabulary and rambling about philosophy. And Augustus’ cigarette “metaphor”? Sorry, I just didn’t get it. Also, other little things that just rubbed me the wrong way… (*SPOILERS* kissing at the Anne Frank house just seemed weird to me and the fact that he waited until AFTER they were intimate before he told her that his cancer was back really rubbed me the wrong way, too)

Also, I’m not really sure if it was because of the MAJOR HYPE surrounding this book or because I already knew how it ended, but I felt kind of let down. It was sad, sure, but I didn’t cry. The end just kind of fizzled out without the emotional punch I was anticipating.

Heads up: Contains sexual content and references, mature language

About WNK

Check out my book review blog! https://excellentlibrary.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

